It’s time once again for our annual Critics’ Pick Award nominations! Below is a list of the art and artists that stood out to us in 2019 television.

Who Qualifies?
Any show that released new episodes on TV or online between January 1st and December 31st was considered for nomination. We tried to be as fair as possible with the division of categories (especially when it came to genre) but it’s not an exact science.

Who Picks the Winners?
Our Editors and Staff Writers all get a say but we use your votes for tie breakers and to choose a Fan Favourite so be sure to share your thoughts on Twitter or shoot us an email to

When Are the Winners Announced?
A full list of the winners will be published in April.

Nominee Interview Series
If you’re nominated this year, e
mail to sign up for our annual Q&A series. 

Also be sure to check out our nominations for the Cinema Awards, and Theatre Awards. 

Without further ado, this year’s nominees are…

Outstanding Direction
Dear White People
Perpetual Grace, LTD

Outstanding Writing for a Comedy
“Episode 5” by Ricky Gervais (After Life)
“Episode 3′” by Phoebe Waller-Bridge (Fleabag)
“Strawberries” by Ramy Youssef (Ramy)
“Episode 4” by Laura Neal & Laurie Nunn (Sex Education)
“180 Almonds” by Abby McEnany & Tim Mason (Work in Progress)

Outstanding Writing for a Drama
“Where Am I Going?” by Charlotte Stoudt (Fosse/Verdon)
“Hers Was a World of One” by John Carney (Modern Love)
“In the Dark Night of the Soul It’s Always 3:30 in the Morning” by Kerry Ehrin & Jay Carson (The Morning Show)
“The Big House” by Brian Chamberlayne (Orange is the New Black)
“A God Walks into Abar” by Jeff Jensen & Damon Lindelof (Watchmen)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy
Brigette Lundy-Paine (Atypical)
Yael Grobglas (Jane the Virgin)
Sian Clifford (Fleabag)
Zoe Boyle (Four Weddings and a Funeral)
Jae Suh Park (Friends from College)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy
DeRon Horton (Dear White People)
Andrew Scott (Fleabag)
Jaime Camil (Jane the Virgin)
Ncuti Gatwa (Sex Education)
Desmin Borges (You’re the Worst)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama
Jessie Buckley (Chernobyl)
Hope Davis (For the People)
Margaret Qualley (Fosse/Verdon)
Taryn Manning (Orange is the New Black)
Kaitlyn Dever (Unbelievable)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama
Stellan Skarsgård (Chernobyl)
LaRoyce Hawkins (Chicago PD)
Ben Shenkman (For the People)
Norbert Leo Butz (Fosse/Verdon)
Jovan Adepo (Sorry For Your Loss)

Outstanding Leading Actress in a Comedy
Christina Applegate (Dead to Me)
Jessica Barden (The End of the F***ing World)
Phoebe Waller-Bridge (Fleabag)
Gina Rodriguez (Jane the Virgin)
Aidy Bryant (Shrill)

Outstanding Leading Actor in a Comedy
Keir Gilchrist (Atypical)
Ben Platt (The Politician)
Ramy Youssef (Ramy)
Asa Butterfield (Sex Education)
Chris Geere (You’re the Worst)

Outstanding Leading Actress in a Drama
Danielle Brooks (Orange is the New Black)
Mj Rodriguez (Pose)
Elizabeth Olsen (Sorry for Your Loss)
Merritt Wever (Unbelievable)
Regina King (Watchmen)

Outstanding Leading Actor in a Drama
Christopher Abbott (Catch-22)
Sam Rockwell (Fosse/Verdon)
Tom Payne (Prodigal Son)
Mamoudou Athie (Sorry For Your Loss)
Jeremy Strong (Succession)

Outstanding Guest Performance
Nikohl Boosheri (The Bold Type)
Kevin Cahoon (GLOW)
Andrew Scott (Modern Love)
Diane Guerrero (Orange is the New Black)
David Corenswet (The Politician)

Outstanding Reality Host/Contestant
Hannah Brown (The Bachelorette)
Nick Cannon (The Masked Singer)
T-Pain aka Monster (The Masked Singer)
Janet Carbin (Survivor)
Mark L Walberg (Temptation Island)

Outstanding Reality Show
The Bachelorette
The Masked Singer
Queer Eye
Temptation Island

Outstanding Comedy
The Other Two
Jane the Virgin
Work in Progress

Outstanding Drama
For the People
Orange is the New Black

Outstanding Comedy Special
Simon Amstell Set Free
Mike Birbiglia The New One
John Mulaney & the Sack Lunch Bunch
Iliza Unveiled
Wanda Sykes Not Normal

Favourite Couple
Fleabag & The Priest (Fleabag)
Roger & Jill (For the People)
Gary & Maggie (A Million Little Things)
Elena & Syd (One Day at a Time)
David & Patrick (Schitt’s Creek)