hi-res-161937921_crop_exactSince March 2, 1951, The All-Star Game has been a fixture in the National Basketball Association. It has pitted the top twelve players of the NBA Eastern and Western Conference against each other in a mid-season exhibition game. It’s an honor to be selected as an All-Star- it’s recognition from the league’s Coaches, Managers, Players and the league’s fans. The fans are responsible for voting in the five starters of each conference: two guards and three big men (forwards and Centers). Every year there are a number of players that many expected to make the team as well as a few names that weren’t expected. But, like most things in life, everything is up for debate. Here’s who made it as an All Star for February 17th’s game.

2013 Eastern Conference All-Star Team

2013 NBA Eastern Conference Starters
Carmelo Anthony (New York)
Kevin Garnett (Boston)
Rajon Rondo (Boston)
Dwyane Wade (Miami)
Lebron James (Miami)

2013 NBA Eastern Conference Reserves
Chris Bosh (Miami)
Tyson Chandler (New York) (First NBA All Star Game)
Luol Deng (Chicago)
Paul George (Indiana) (First NBA All Star Game)
Jrue Holiday (Philadelphia) (First NBA All Star Game)
Kyrie Irving (Cleveland) (First NBA All Star Game)
Joakim Noah (Chicago) (First NBA All Star Game)

2013 Western Conference All-Star Team

2013 NBA Western Conference Starters
Kobe Bryant (L.A. Lakers)
Kevin Durant (OKC)
Blake Griffin (L.A. Clippers)
Dwight Howard (L.A. Lakers)
Chris Paul (L.A. Clippers)

2013 NBA Western Conference Reserves
LaMarcus Aldridge (Portland)
Tim Duncan (San Antonio)
James Harden (Houston) (First NBA All Star Game)
David Lee (Golden State)
Tony Parker (San Antonio)
Zach Randolph (Memphis)
Russell Westbrook (OKC)

Brook Lopez from the Brooklyn Nets was added to the Eastern Conference All Stars team to replace Boston’s Rajon Rondo who suffered an ACL tear which ended his season. This year the public outcry for snubbed All-Star was for Stephen Curry of the Golden State Warriors who was averaging 20 points and 6 assist on a team in fifth place in the Western conference.

With a final score of 143-138, The West took home the prize and awarded Chris Paul of the LA Clippers as MVP.